Shelby County General Election Endorsements

Stand for Children Tennessee proudly endorses the following slate of education champions in the Shelby County general election on August 2, 2018.

Shelby County Mayor: Lee Harris

Shelby County Board of Commissioners:

Mark Billingsley, District 4

Michael Whaley, District 5

Willie Brooks, Jr., District 6

Tami Sawyer, District 7

Mickell Lowery, District 8

Reginald Milton, District 10

Eddie Jones, Jr., District 11

Van Turner, District 12

Brandon Morrison, District 13

These candidates were selected by a diverse committee of dedicated, passionate students, parents, and community leaders through a multi-part endorsement process. Each of them have demonstrated a deep understanding of the issues that affect local students and families and have been identified as advocates who will make funding decisions that prioritize the educational needs of Shelby County’s youth.

Their commitment to improving student academic achievement and helping all young people reach their full potential will make them ideal allies in our mission to ensure that all children graduate from high school prepared for college or a career. Now is the time to elect education champions who share our commitment to the future success of our community’s youth.

Get ready for the Shelby County general election by registering to vote — or updating your registration — by July 3, 2018. Beat the crowd and cast your vote early during the early voting period, July 13-28. The date of the general election is August 2.

Make your voice heard on Election Day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *