This Month at the DPS Board SPECIAL ALERT

Current Events & News | 12/02/2021

Vallerie Bustamante

On Tuesday, November 30, new Denver Public Schools (DPS) board members were sworn into office. This special session, scheduled to say goodbye to outgoing members of the board and welcome the newly elected members, started with heart felt messages from colleagues and members of the community for outgoing members Dr. Barbara O’Brian who represented the entire district (at-large), Angela Cobián who represented Southwest Denver (D-2), and Jennifer Bacon who represented far Northeast Denver (D-4).

New members Xóchitl “Sochi” Gaytán (Southwest Denver, D-2), Michelle Quattlebaum (far Northeast Denver, D-4), Scott Esserman (at-large) were sworn in. Dr. Carrie Olson also returned to her seat representing central Denver (D-3). The board then to elected new leadership, voting for Xóchitl “Sochi” Gaytán as the new board President, Tay Anderson as the new Vice President, Michelle Quattlebaum as the new Secretary, and Scott Esserman as new Treasurer. 

The new board has its first work session today, Thursday, December 2 at 4:30pm. You can watch the meeting live here.


Share This Page

Add a comment