Stand AZ 2016 Candidate Endorsements

Elections | 07/27/2016

Patrick McReynolds Arizona Marketing & Communications Director

As Marketing and Communications Director, Patrick spreads the message about the good Arizona parents and students are doing, and ways the state could help them and their teachers do even better.

ALL show strong records and willingness to put Arizona children first

PHOENIX (July 27) - Stand for Children Arizona is proud to issue its 2016 legislative endorsements, recognizing 27 candidates for Arizona Legislature in the Primary Election on August 30th. These candidates, representing both major political parties, have shown a commitment to improve the education quality and achievement of Arizona school children. 

“Stand for Children Arizona does not take its endorsement process lightly.  These candidates have been fully vetted to make sure they currently agree with, and will stay true to a majority of Stand’s policies and educational priorities that we believe will bring the quickest results.  The passage of Proposition 123 was just the beginning.  And these candidates know it will take much more effort to fix Arizona’s K-12 system, that has been neglected for far too long.  We look forward to working with them to achieve this goal,” said Rebecca Gau, Stand for Children Arizona Executive Director.

In determining these endorsements, a committee comprised of Stand for Children parent leaders evaluated candidates on an education-specific questionnaire, as well as incumbents’ voting records and the candidates’ overall alignment with Stand for Children core objectives.

The following are Stand for Children Arizona’s endorsed candidates:


Senate Endorsements:

Senator David Bradley, District 10

Jimmy Lindblom, District 12

Diane Landis, District 13

Senator Jeff Dial, District 18

Senator Catherine Miranda, District 27

Representative Kate Brophy McGee, District 28

Representative Eric Meyer, District 28

Senator Robert Meza, District 30

Lydia Hernandez, District 29


House Endorsements:

A.G. “Chip” Davis, District 1

Representative Thomas “T.J.” Shope, District 8

David Cook, District 8

Courtney Frogge, District 10

LaCinda Lewis, District 12

Representative Heather Carter, District 15

Representative Douglas Coleman, District 16

Adam Stevens, District 16

Representative Bob Robson, District 18

Representative Ken Clark, District 24

Michelle Udall, District 25

Representative Reginald Bolding Jr., District 27

Representative Rebecca Rios, District 27

Mary Hamway, District 28

Maria Syms, District 28

Cesar Chavez, District 29

Rosa Cantu, District 29

Tony Navarrete, District 30


More information on the candidates and their educational priorities can be found here or by simply clicking on the candidate's name.




Stand for Children is a nonprofit advocacy organization that focuses on empowering and educating parents, teachers and community members to become active leaders who will serve as a voice for children at the state and local level. Our mission is simple: to ensure that all children, regardless of their background, graduate from high school prepared for, and with access to, a college education. For more information, visit or call 757-846-5732.

Share This Page

Add a comment